Ms. Loftus is the first Director, Department of the Navy Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Office (DON SAPRO), reporting directly to the Secretary and Under Secretary of the Navy. Ms Loftus serves as the Secretary's principal point of accountability for all sexual assault policy matters and as the primary resource for expert SAPR assessment, program support, and oversight. The Office's Department-wide goals include promoting a culture of gender respect and individual responsibility, reducing the incidence of sexual assault, and improving support for survivors of sexual assault to include consolidating SAPR data and insight from across DON; coordinating with ongoing Navy and Marine Corps SAPR efforts; conducting visits to SAPR sites and program managers throughout DON; performing or coordinating periodic surveys; developing and implementing updated DON policy, programs, and training; maintaining liaison with DoD, other Services, and civilian agencies; and providing timely updates for the Secretary and Under Secretary.

Ms. Loftus began her federal service as a Presidential Junior Fellow assigned to the Naval Electronic Systems Command, now Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command (SPAWAR). Upon completion of her fellowship, Ms. Loftus entered the Naval Material Command's Contracting Intern Development Program, graduating in 1979. She has over 34 years of federal service in multiple agencies and organizations.

While assigned to SPAWAR, Ms. Loftus held various positions including Contracting Officer for the Joint Tactical Information Distribution System, Head of the Command and Control Contracts Branch and Head of the Ship and Submarine Communications Contracts Branch.

In 1986, Ms. Loftus joined the Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR) as Head of the Tactical Aircraft Contracts Branch and, in 1991 she became the Director of Contract Policy and Management at NAVAIR. In 1993, Ms. Loftus joined the Senior Executive Service as the Director of Contracts and Grants for the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services, where she oversaw the contracting and grant activities for the twenty separate NIH Institutes. These Institutes were responsible for an annual investment of over $28 billion in medical research awarded through almost 50,000 competitive grants to more than 325,000 researchers at over 3,000 universities, medical schools, and other research institutions in every state and around the world. In April 1994, she returned to the Navy as Head of Cruise Missiles and Unmanned Aerial Vehicles Contracts, supporting Program Executive Office, Cruise Missiles and Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (CU).

In January 1997, Ms. Loftus became the Deputy Naval Inspector General (IG). Reporting directly to the Secretary of the Navy and Chief of Naval Operations, her responsibilities ranged from inspecting Echelon II Commands and Fleet concentration areas around the world, to investigating crucial issues such as Wounded Warriors, AT/FP since 9/11, Alcohol and Drug Abuse in the Navy and Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, as well as review of Department of Defense interrogation techniques in operations around the world. The Deputy Naval Inspector General was particularly charged with overseeing sensitive investigations involving senior officials and investigations into fraud, waste, abuse and mismanagement at every level of the Navy. In August 2009, Ms. Loftus was chosen by the Secretary to fill her present position as the first Director, Department of the Navy Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Office.

Ms. Loftus graduated with a bachelor's degree in English literature from the University of Virginia, attended graduate school at California, and completed the Executive Program at the University of Virginia, Colgate Darden Graduate School of Business Administration. She is DAWIA Level III certified in Contracting. She has received two Presidential Rank Awards for Meritorious Executive (2001, 2006), three Department of the Navy Distinguished Civilian Service Awards (2000, 2007, 2009), three Department of the Navy Superior Civilian Service Award (1994, 1996, 2004), and the Secretary of Defense Superior Management Award.

Back To Top